Granite 19t pinion Granite

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

swampguts

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
  2. Voltage
So my son wouldn't let me play with his truck much, so I got myself one. I'm totally new to RC, but I'm having fun.
20181113_174118.jpg

Has anyone run the nineteen tooth pinion on a stock Granite? Should I be more cautious about outdrive or overheating issues if I install one? I'm running six of the included lithium ion cells, haven't jumped to lipo yet. It's been raining constantly and my driving isn't up to par quite yet.

Mostly asphalt and gravel running right now. I wanna see this "25+ mph" the package claims. Right now it only does about nineteen.

You can drop the bigger pinion in there, but check the motor temp often for your first run or three. Get a IR thermometer (I use a $12 one from Harbor Freight) and keep the temps under 170f.

I already own a few IR guns, some nice, cause of welding. One seventy is safe for plastic, really?

Anyone know what size hex for the set screw?

That's what I thought. I guess I got my metric set and my standard set mixed up again.

It only gained three mph with the larger pinion. Of course I just downloaded a GPS app so it might not be super accurate. I was getting 19 before, 22 now.

It only gained three mph with the larger pinion. Of course I just downloaded a GPS app so it might not be super accurate. I was getting 19 before, 22 now.

It seems like you are enjoying the hobby! I'd suggest getting the Granite 3s BLX. Then you will be looking at over twice the speed of the Voltage. You are going to become bored with that truck and you don't want to keep throwing money at it :)