3D Printed Replacement Diff Outdrive

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

curtisrands

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Hi all, I'm new to Arrma, new to RC, and new to the forums.

My son got an Arrma Granite Voltage Mega 2WD a month ago and we've now experienced the dreaded rounding out of the plastic differential outdrive. I ordered new diff outdrives but they are on backorder, so I decided to test out a 3D print of the part. I modeled the part from scratch with the relevant features and printed it on a Markforged Onyx One printer at work. I used the standard Onyx material, described as "Nylon mixed with chopped carbon fiber offers a high-strength thermoplastic with excellent heat resistance, surface finish, and chemical resistance." I think the normal part is probably ABS; the Onyx nylon claims 1.4 times stronger and stiffer than ABS. We haven't done any hard testing yet, but I think the killer is when my son hits full fwd and then goes into full reverse, which he loves to do. I've told him he's got to lay off that a bit unless he wants to be fixing it all the time. We are using Li Ion batts on dirt and asphalt, with everything stock, for reference.

Anyway, the part fits and spins really well, we'll get out a drive it around a bit this weekend and see how well it holds up. I can print 4 of them in a few hours and the material cost is about 75 cents a piece, using solid infill (infill is a 3D printing term - a lot of 3D-printed parts are mostly hollow if you don't need the strength and want to save time and material). I wanted the best strength and don't care about the weight, cost, or time here.