3s Capacitor Fire

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KevWannaBe

Reaction score
Hi all,

RC newbie here and my first post. I bought an essentially written off 3s senton. Replaced all the bearings and even the bearings in the brushless motor. All is well, probably 10 packs through it so far. Today I went to the park with the kids. Ran through 1 pack and played football. I turned the car off but DIDNT unplug the battery. After 45 minutes or so. White smoke pouring out of the arches!!! Ran over, whipped the shell off. The capacitors on the ESC are on fire, literally burning!!! The ones on the battery cable. Unplugged and put out flames. I have questions:

1. Why would the capacitors go up when the car is stationary?
2. The battery seems okay, will it be? It looks fine.
3. Can I replace the Arrma 3s Capacitors and be up and running again? Or is the ESC cooked?

Just showed me these things need treating with respect. If it had of been at home and we were not around to put it out????????

There was a dead short somewhere. As simple as that. Was it wet? Did it take any impacts?

I was blasting it around and the grass was very wet. No big impacts...
My guess is the ESC was no longer water proof and you got a dead short from moisture inside.

Hi all,

RC newbie here and my first post. I bought an essentially written off 3s senton. Replaced all the bearings and even the bearings in the brushless motor. All is well, probably 10 packs through it so far. Today I went to the park with the kids. Ran through 1 pack and played football. I turned the car off but DIDNT unplug the battery. After 45 minutes or so. White smoke pouring out of the arches!!! Ran over, whipped the shell off. The capacitors on the ESC are on fire, literally burning!!! The ones on the battery cable. Unplugged and put out flames. I have questions:

1. Why would the capacitors go up when the car is stationary?