3s vs 6s Battery Capacity

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eshubert

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 6s
I'm totally new to this. I have a Kraton 6s i run with a 15T pinion. I have four 3s 5000mAh 50C Spektrum batteries that work great and last about 15 min on 6s. The LVC kicks in on average cell V of 3.7-3.8V.

I of course want to lengthen the time of my runs. I'm looking for bigger batteries and better manufacturers.

Who are the best manufacturers of batteries? I see SMC, Turnigy, and gensacearespammers are pretty popular. Who do you guys like?

Why is it so hard to find a 6s battery at 10,000mAh and so easy to find 3s at 5,000mAh. Are 2 3s batteries at 5,000mAh equivalent to 1 6s battery at 10,000mAh? Is a single 6s battery going to last longer than 2 3s batteries on a run?

And just to add another layer what are your thoughts on hardcase vs softcase? is softcase just out of the question for bashing?

I run softcase in my 4s and it works, just make sure you strap it in nice and tight with no room for movement, my friend who was a bit careless last time we went out and his lipo was all puffed up. If the option is there, hardcase would be better.

It's not hard to find 6s 10000mah lipos. It's just hard to find them in high C ratings.

When you series two 3s lipos you don't gain capacity you gain voltage. If you parallel two lipos together you gain capacity and remain at the same voltage.

Generally speaking, it's better to get several lower capacity batteries and swap them. The weight of large batteries can causing handling problems and swapping batteries gives your electronics a chance to cool down.

When you run 2x3S batteries you are running them in series, so the voltage is additive but capacity is constant. 2x3s @ 5000mah are equivalent to 1x6s @ 5000mah.

Most of my batteries are soft case. Hard case might prevent minor punctures, but the walls are generally not very thick.