Typhon 4 week old car moves only forward sometimes backwards

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SamVorst

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Typhon 3s
Hi all,

I'm new to the forum and to the hobby also. I have some knowledge of technic.
So I went racing last friday and suddenly the car stops driving. The ESC was beeping.
I opened the car and there was no movement in the motor, it was stuck. With some force I could get it to turn.
But when I turned on the motor it maked a screaming noise. So I was thinking there was something wrong with the motor.
I opened the motor, and yes: a bearing was broken. So I went to my local hobby store and bought a new bearing.
Luckily the bearing was only a few euros. I replaced it and was thinking I could go race again. But now my car won't go backwards :(
It goes forwards and sometimes backwards, no pattern in it. Randomly it works, and if it goes backwards it keeps rolling untill I shut the car down.
So forward is working. I guess there is something wrong with my ESC, which I already gave a factroy reset.

Does any one knows this problem and a eventually solution?
Or can I use my warranty. The typhon 3s is bought 3/4 weeks ago.

I hope any one can help me out.

Thank, Sam

You could use your warranty. I don't see how this could be user error.
I think your motor may have broke while the bearing was broken. The magnets may have touched and worn a lot

A locked up motor due to armature failure and/or Bearing failure can damage an ESC. Especially if the motor was under full load when the motor locked up. Or if you continue to throttle a locked motor. Out of 2 locked motor failures I fried one ESC in the process. (BLX185/2050 stockers) If you run in the wet with no lube or maintenance, most bearings will fail no matter what. (user error IMHO)