Vorteks Thing^2 (a Velo 4s build)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Almost there! I’ll be test driving tomorrow. Man, this will be interesting. The width of the car nearly matches the length. Should be great at cart wheels 😂 My 14t pinion was cracked when I went to put it on, dang it. So I’m trying a 16t since that’s what I got. It’ll be a bit much I bet on 4s with the new 4068, 2650kv motor. Should be fine on 3s. If it doesn’t have the same rotational control while flying, I’ll go back down to a 14t or maybe even a 13t.

Made a set of rock guards for the rear drive shafts. I’m getting better at making them, these being the 7th or 8th pair I’ve made. The two sheets of Kydex I got for 20 bucks years ago has plenty left also.

I tuned up the shocks and made new boots. I’ve been making them for a couple years now and they not only last longer than the ones I can buy, but they seal better. The underneath is always clean when I pull them off. I tried several different types of balloons before I found the perfect ones. I secure them at the bottom with tiny zip ties. When the shock fully compressed the bunched up rubber around the zip tie acts as a cushion.

I’m running mojave rear shocks with Kraton springs and 65wt oil and I’m trying the outside shock mount first. I have mojave front shocks up front with 50wt oil and it should have a lower slung mean kinda look.

I put the cnc diff in back and v2 sintered diff up front. I did get metal shielded, ABEC 5 tiny bearings for both diffs. They are butter smooth now, mounted in the hot racing diff covers.

Now that it has v2, 4s towers I think the body may sit a bit high. I have a new v1 outcast body to paint, but I’m it was precut and made for v1 towers, so I may run into the same issue and have a gap. I’ll figure something out. The look won’t affect to function after all. Can’t wait for tomorrow!

IMG_9280.jpeg

IMG_9281.jpeg