Big Rock 4x4 Big Rock metal spur gear catastrophe

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chaosmage

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
Hi all,

I'm an RC truck noob, just got a Big Rock on 3S, swapped a spur gear for "ARRMA HEAVY DUTY 57T SPUR GEAR 0.8MOD" and it killed everything inside after a few rides. I've tightened it pretty hard, as it was slipping all the time.
Now I see both bearings are gone, gear enclosure, pinion gear. I would appreciate if someone can help me to figure out how to fix that.

1. what did I do wrong?
2. what parts do I need to buy? and where do you usually get them?
- someone was recommending Robinson Racing Extra Hard Steel .8 Mod Pinion Gear w/5mm Bore (13T)
- Arrma 4x4 Composite Motor Mount Set
- no idea what bearings are those
3. it has chewed the center driveshaft too, but that was since the very beginning ...

Thanks a lot!!

P.S. I think I've got it. Tightened the slipper way too much, and here is the result.

Attachments

• IMG_3855.jpeg
    IMG_3855.jpeg
    302.2 KB · Views: 861
Last edited:
What were you hoping to achieve with the metal spur gear? In everything I've read, putting a metal spur gear in a Big Rock seems to cause a lot of problems with no real benefit... Maybe just put everything back to stock?

What were you hoping to achieve with the metal spur gear?

Plastic spur gear didn't last a few weeks, I was hoping to get more durability and less maintenance.
And stock ... stock ... doesn't sound fun?

Plastic spur gear didn't last a few weeks, I was hoping to get more durability and less maintenance.
And stock ... stock ... doesn't sound fun?

I'm all for upgrades (see my other posts lol).

Are you using the stock motor?