About to buy a kraton 6s. Need to know what batteries/charger to use

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Freedom556

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
I've searched and cant really find good answers. I'm new to RC and all I have is a brushed 2wd traxxas slash and it's way too slow. I'm assuming my traxxas lipo charger won't work for a 4s or 6s battery? I'm planning on buying at least a 4s 5000mah 50c battery to start with. I just need to make sure that I order one with xt90 connector right?

Last edited:
I've searched and cant really find good answers. I'm new to RC and all I have is a brushed 2wd traxxas slash and it's way too slow. I'm assuming my traxxas lipo charger won't work for a 4s or 6s battery? I'm planning on buying at least a 4s 5000mah 50c battery to start with. I just need to make sure that I order one with xt90 connector right?
My personal experience with lipos are either hit or miss regardless of brand the "c" rating is most of the time bogus if 4s is all your ever gonna run that's good but if your gonna want more later i would just get a 5000 mah or more 6s and take it easy until you get used to it i wouldn't waste the money on a 4s and the charger i use is the isdt sc-620 it needs a power supply but it's a good charger pretty cheap too and yeah you need xt90 connectors unless you know how to solder your own.

I run my Kraton on 4S but that's because I haven't had it very long and when I picked up the car my LHS was out of 6S batteries so I bought 4S. Since then I have been focused on buying parts not batteries and if I need more batteries then I have a number of 2 S from other cars I can run together in the meantime until I get a few 3S's. I will go 3S's as I can charge multiple more quickly (in theory or at least the same)

Your manual will specify minimum battery requirements for the Kraton see below:

Snip20190123_1.png