Air brushing

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chevys10zr2003

Very Active Member
Lifetime Premium!
Premium Member
Excellence Award
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 6s
  2. Senton 6s
  3. Typhon 6s
I have been looking into air brushing. I have never tried it and don't really know where to begin. I think I have it narrowed down to two brushes and two regulators.

For the brush I am looking at these two. Iwata Neo CN is the one I'm leaning towards but also considering the Badger Patriot 105.

For the regulator I am looking at the Badger filter, gauge and regulator and Paasche filter, gauge and regulator and I'm leaning towards the Paasche.

1. Does anyone have any experience or opinions on these?

2. Is there anything else I need to be looking for?

3. What kind of paints are people using?

Thanks for any help you can give me!!

I am not an airbrush expert, but have been dabbling in their use for awhile.

Both models you're looking at are two stage brushes. The amount of paint flow is controlled by the "trigger." The further back you pull it, the more paint you flow. Many say to start with a single stage (needle/amount of paint adjusted by a screw on the back instead of a proportional trigger). I say you only NEED a single stage if you plan to own multiple brushes and need a "wide stroke" for larger area often. I think you're doing right by going two stage. Go big or stay home!