Granite Arrma 1/10 Granite Mega 4x4 Brushed 4WD Battery Recommendations?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alemmo

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Hello Everyone, I am brand new to the hobby. I'm the dad. I bought 2 of these Granite Mega 4x4 for my 9 year old twins. They got them on their birthday yesterday. They love them and they are cool trucks. The battery only lasts about 10 minutes that came with them. I was just wondering if you had recommendations for some more batteries. From what i have read i think i want to stick with NIMH batteries. I don't want anything too powerful or hard to maintain for the 9 year olds.

thank you so much.

That was also my idea too for my 9 y.o. son's Granite Mega. After a few packs, I bought a 5000mAh 2S Lipo and I am the one taking care of the battery charging. I'd advise staying with NiMH if you don't want to be responsible for the charging.

I'd further advise buying a truck for yourself and take care of the charging! :)

I was also afraid of Lipos when I started reading about them. I was freaking out about burning my house down. :eek:Then I read even more and I realized they are pretty safe if you take good care of them. Accident often happens when people don't follow the rules.

The rules are quite simple:
- You need a good charger that can balance charge;
- Always balance charge in Lipo mode;
- Charge them in Lipo bags and away from flammable stuff;
- Stay nearby (in the same room) when charging in the house. That's the principal pain point IMO.
- Keep them at storage voltage if you're not using them in the next few hours;
- Keep them in a vented ammo box or something like that.
- Discharge completely and discard if they are damaged or starting to puff.

I think that's pretty much it. It seems Lipo fires are very rare occurence if you follow these rules. I know it seems like a lot of things to consider, but most of it is common sense.