Granite Arrma Granite Voltage = money pit?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jens

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Hi everyone,

i'm quite new to the hobby (with my 10 year old son) and we got ourselves the granite voltage.
So far we have used it about 15 times (first with the stock batteries, now with 2s lipo) and i already had to replace the outdrives.
Now today it's already making strange noises again and it guess this time it's the spur gear (i hope i'm right i'm not sure if i can take the thing apart completely and get it back together).

Anyway, my question is, i know lots of people seem to have problem with the outdrives, but is it normal to also break the spur gear and other parts frequently?
Which parts should i get and how hard is it to get to the parts that are more on the inside and change them?

Should i expect to have to change something every 5-10 runs like it has been until now or is it just bad luck?

To be honest, this seems to be quite an expensive hobby so far and i don't know if i want to invest the time and money to change parts if something breaks every few runs (and it's not like we're doing crazy things here, more or less only driving it on the street and on grass, some jumps down 50 cm stairs).

Sorry if this all sounds too negative but i'm really disappointed so far...
I mean i know you have to expect repairs in this hobby because there will be accidents but shouldn't an rc car go through 20-30 runs with a 2s lipo without breaking apart all by itself?

I would love to hear about your experiences with the voltage and if they are as bad as mine perhaps recommendations what to get instead.
Can someone recommend other 1/10 cars that have an all metal drive train and don't break so much? If i had to spend 100 or 200 usd more and don't have to spend 20 usd on parts weekly i would probably save a lot in the long run.