Typhon Arrma Mega Upgrade

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Casey1982

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
I have a Typhon Mega and installed a castle SW4 combo Basher edition brushless motor/ ESC and was needing some advise as to what all else needed to be upgraded in order to accommodate for the extra power, I’m new to the hobby and any help would be appreciated.

I have a Typhon Mega and installed a castle SW4 combo Basher edition brushless motor/ ESC and was needing some advise as to what all else needed to be upgraded in order to accommodate for the extra power, I’m new to the hobby and any help would be appreciated.
Look I know nothing about the Mega series so all I can say is, definitely an easier throttle finger ?

Presuming v3 typhon mega:

1) all bearings should be replaced with rubber sealed;
2) high speed driveshaft carrier not on mega - worth it for brushless;
3) mega turnbuckles/rod ends are single moulded plastic pIeces and snap in seconds on 3s power;
4) mega diffs have a little bit of grease only, need disassembling and filling with silicon oil - for your set up consider replacing with the hot racing steel diffs;
5) my mega had basically no oil in the shocks and needed refilling;
6) mega comes with a plastic motor mount, need to replace with metal for 3s power;
7) mega 5kg steering servo is guff and needs replacing;
8) mega diff inputs must be replaced with metal versions as they snap quick on 3s; and
9) mega slipper doesn't hold up long to 3s so the slipper and spur and pinion should be replaced with 0.8 mod 3s kit.

Just fyi v3 mega diff input/teeth differ from 3s, giving slightly lower ratios on the mega with the same pinion and spur.

If you have a v4 mega, points 1, 2, 3, 6 and 8 (and maybe 9, someone will know) are resolved.