Typhon Arrma typhon mega brushless upgrade.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimbulsara

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
Hi all,
Complete noob, I know I should have gotten the 3s. But it is hard to explain that to the gestapo (wife). I want to upgrade the mega to a relatively cheap brushless system ( less than 90 pds uk) do you have any suggestions, for a bit more speed. I would like to continue using the nimh batteries if possible. What kind of esc motor can I get for that price bracket? If possible I would like to keep stock gearing just to be easier to do. I am a complete noob so sorry if I am asking too much

Do you plan to run lipos in it at all? Reason I ask is that the diff output gears on the Mega models are entirely plastic and don't hold up to brushless power very well so along with the brushless kit you would at the very least need the Mega HD diff output gears.

I've never tried using a nimh battery with a brushless system. Not sure how beneficial it would be. If I'm not mistaking, the mega can handle a 2S battery. Have you tried that? I remember seeing a noticeable difference in speed and run time when using 2S batteries in a brushed setup. It would be cheaper than a brushless system and the gears should be able to handle it.

Do you plan to run lipos in it at all? Reason I ask is that the diff output gears on the Mega models are entirely plastic and don't hold up to brushless power very well so along with the brushless kit you would at the very least need the Mega HD diff output gears.