Granite battery for granite 4x4 blx

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

m.mahdi_sh

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
hey there, i'm new to the hobby and i'm about to buy a Granite 4x4 blx, so i'm looking for a 3s lipo, i read the lipo thread and saw some brand named to be good. but i've got a Question about the whole lipo thing.
i know that current output of the batteries would be C-rating*capacity(assuming the numbers that the company says are true :D) and a friend told me to buy at least a 5000mah 35C(as is written in the truck's manual)
but here is my problem:
5 (Ah) * 35 (C) = 175 A(referred to as minimum req for the esc in the manual)
or with some of the available products i've been looking to 416 A, 300 A, 265 A, again 416 A output!!
which is way above the 100A esc stock in granite!
so what's the deal here?!
and also is the hard case really necessary as said in the manual?!

and after all from the links i provided which one would u recommend for Granite 4x4 blx?

Generally speaking, you want the continuous discharge rate of the battery to be 30%-50% (or more) higher than the continuous current of the ESC as a buffer (in case if the specs are advertised higher than they actually are). After that, you won't really see much of a difference in performance anymore. In your case, I think 150 amps of continuous discharge is plenty.

As for hard or soft case (or hybrid), it doesn't really matter for the car to run properly. However, soft case lipos can be easily damaged in crashes, and the "casing" starts to peal off after a couple of hard hits. I think Arrma said that just so that people won't blame it on them if a soft case explodes in their car during a crash.

Also, welcome to Arrma Forums! :)

I'm not entirely sure to be honest. I don't run lipo batteries, I just know that the esc rating is constant current not max burst.