Beginner: how do I select a good speed running road?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hector_Fisher

Very Active Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Granite
  3. Kraton EXB
I'm in the process of selecting a road for speed running. I'm a beginner. In the name of safety for people and safety of the car... yada yada.... what tips should I keep in mind for selecting a good speed running road? So far for myself I've figured out:
-low traffic from autos/pedestrians
-smooth surface as possible
-good visibility (straight, can see if cars are coming)

But I feel like those are given. What else? How much distance should I plan on needing (like 100mph run equals X,XXX feet, and 120mph needs Y,YYY feet)? Do I want curbed roads? Roads with ditches? You get the idea.

I would say use google earth and measure out what distance you have available.

I like 1200 ft for 100mph
I like 1350+ ft for 120 mph.

-Minimal obstacles like trees, fire hydrants, curbs, gutters, road reflectors.
-Zero pedestrians or bring a spotter with 2-way radio to warn you.
-No curbs is best so the car can go off into the grass in a worse case scenario
-Little to no traffic
-Smooth as glass
-No radio interference (look for power lines, radio towers, airports)

A wide road with shoulders is very helpful. My current speed road is 3+ lanes wide (30+ ft), which leaves room for error although I keep the car within a 10ft wide lane.

I really like standing on a ladder or on top of a vehicle for visibility and most of all safety!

*Feel free to PM me if you need any guidance on the car, setup, etc...