Bringing a pawn shop Talion V1 back to life

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beewerks

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Talion
Hello everyone,

I posted this in the introduction area and as I dig deeper into this Talion I figured I would keep track of my progress here. I've got lots of questions!

I'm not new to the RC's but I am a newb to the Arrma world. I'm really digging what I have seen so far and am excited to see what I can make out of the truck I just got. It's Talion that is in really rough shape, but I think should be repairable. I picked it up from a pawn shop with a body, two 2s lipos, and a controller for $160.

So far apart from obvious wear to the body and rear wing, I can see that the lower front a-arm mount is busted. The steering servo has a funky horn setup on it that should be repaired, and the drive shafts are pretty worn. Non of that bugs me since parts are pretty cheap. Only thing that is slightly worrisome to me is a nice burnt electronics smell when I power it up. I'm hoping it's just the crappy servo, but it could very well be the ESC, which also looks wonky. The ESC flashes some blue lights when I power it up. I have to figure out the manufacturer of it and look up what the lights mean.

Anyway, it will be a journey, but I prefer to repair busted RCs rather than buying shiny and new.

Ok, so far, I've purchased a new stock rear wing and a new Hot Racing lower front rear suspension mount. Couldn't bring myself to spend the money on the Voltage RC part though I'm sure it's superior.

The burning electronics smell seems to come mainly from the remote receiver. Could I be just lucky and have just a bad receiver, or did the ESC burn up taking the receiver with it? Hmm, time will tell as I check further.