Castle Mamba monster X ESC; soldering battery connectors

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JayP.

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 8S
  2. Kraton EXB
  3. Outcast 8s
  4. Outcast 6s
  5. Senton 3s
I have a mamba monster x esc, and I was planning on just cutting and stripping the battery wires off my BLX185 esc and soldering those on. They're the same guage wire, so would I be fine to do that? It would make the process a lot simpler, plus it already has the connectors I want to use. It's probably a dumb question, but I've never had to solder on battery connectors, I usually just keep the RTR electronics.

You can do that however it may create some resistance issues in the wires.
If you do this I (In very few cases) when I do this I will strip off a little
over 1/4 inch of bare wire on both sides. I then will slowly push to 2 wires
together entwining them until I cannot push together any further.
I will dab some paste on the connections then twist or finagle them so
there are no stray wires floating around. See pic attached for a general reference.
I tossed the example together quickly :)
I never solder pre-tinned wires side by side...never
1618072015857.png

Yeah I will do this and recycle perfectly fine ESC wires from bricked ESC's. Makes perfect sense and saves much time. Just that
If you aren't experienced/comfortable with soldering connectors, you may have a hard time soldering wires to wires. There is a special technique by Splaying the strands of the wires together and using some flux. Watch videos regarding soldering Wires together. Thick guage wires can be a bear if done wrong. Of course you will need Heat Shrink Tubing on hand. There is NO Tinning the wires done this way. Done properly. Using bullets to connect wires can work, but I don't feel it is the correct way to solder Power wires together. (Increase in circuit resistance.) Just me. :cool: