Kraton Changing Diff Fluids

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Harleyflyer

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Infraction
  2. Kraton 6s
  3. Notorious
I’m still very new to RC Trucks. I have read several threads and watched some videos on taking out the diffs, taking everything apart and then putting in the oil. My question is this, I just received the Kraton EXB and I want to put different fluids in, but do I have to take the diffs completely apart or can I let the diff oil drain out and then put in the oil weight I want? If I need to take each diff apart, I will do that but wanted to check first.

Thanks!

I would advise getting spare diff gaskets before opening the diff, just in case your existing one splits

You can drain the oil without stripping out all of the internal diff gears. I personally would though, just to check it all out and add some green slime/o-ring grease in case that was missed in the factory, and if I was using different weights, but no, it isn't necessary

You can use degreaser/contact cleaner with an old toothbrush if you did want to clean out the internals, but remember to remove both o-rings before you do! When the diff is assembled again and put back in, pack it up with white silicone grease or Lucas red and tacky on the main diff gear, if you didn't keep a lot of the original grease on it