Granite Did I get a lemon granite 4x4 blx?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tgorfido

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
Hello to all. I am fairly new to the RC world as I got a brushed granit mega 4x4 for my son for Christmas, he is 5 so I had to drive it for him lol. But he now is driving very well so I went and picked up a granite 3s blx so we had something to do during this covid 19 lockdown.

The brushed granite has been great, only had to change a servo and tighten the pinion gear, runs like a champ.

The new granite blx I have only had a week and hasn't been able to do a full run, the steering was never quite right, constantly had to adjust the trim. Then the steering block on the right front tire broke. After I replaced that the steering was a little better but still not as good as my brushed granite. Then the servo went 3 mins into the next run, replaced that, steering is usable but still not great. Then less than 15 mins into the 3rd try at a run the motor was turning but not the driveshaft. So tonight I took the transmission out and the spur gear was basically ground smooth, no teeth left. I haven't ever "meshed" a gear (if that is what you are supposed to do) but should I have even needed to do that for a new truck? The bearings are also toast from all the ground plastic teeth dust so I will need to replace them as well.

I've spent 6 to 8 hours repairing the blx and less than 30 mins driving. Is this common for a new truck to be this messed up? I don't mind learning and fixing things but it's becoming a hassle and I would love to be able to run at least one full battery without something breaking.

Anyone have a similar experience?

Attachments

• 20200407_195752.jpg
    20200407_195752.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 50
  • 20200407_195752.jpg
    20200407_195752.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 43
  • 20200407_195755.jpg
    20200407_195755.jpg
    132.6 KB · Views: 39