Kraton Differential help

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CubFan

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Hello all, new member/rc owner. My son bought a kraton, and I'm the lucky one who gets to fix it. ☺️. Anyways, he burnt up the stock center differential, so since I'm brand new to the rc world, I bought a new one that was pre-assembled. That one has since burnt up. I have now bought the shims, and rebuilt a new one, as recommended here.

My question is after how many runs/run time am I supposed to check the oil, to make sure it hasn't leaked? Or is that not done. I know I will have to rebuild the front/back differential as well, but he is happy now they car is back running.

Something else is wrong with the truck. I have 3 arrmas and am very lazy with maintenance and the center diffs barely get warm.
Something else in your drive line is causing it to spin way too much. Put your truck up on something to get the wheels off the ground. Hold one rear wheel and spin the other with your hand. Are the front wheels turning? Do this to the front wheels. You have something going on with your drive line. Bearing, front or rear diff, a rock jammed in somewhere. Hard to tell without having the truck in front of me but melting diff is not something shimming will prevent. If anything it will make them run hotter.
As far as maintenance on the truck I just do as needed but do check all screws, steering, pillowballs, mesh, and look for bad bearings every time I go out. Also run around in the parking lot to listen for noises before every bash.
If there is no grease laying or flung all over in side I know the grease is still in the dif...hope you get this sorted.

Thanks for the info.

I'm not sure if it matters, but we have a lot of room to run (3 acres), and he is constantly running in wide open, turning around and running back in the grass

Thanks for the info.