DIY skid plate: is a punch the right tool for the job?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hector_Fisher

Very Active Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Granite
  3. Kraton EXB
Outlining designs for a DIY steel skid plate.
Looking to put a formed counter sink into 7/64 inch thick (~2.77mm) metal flat bar. Countersink on the bottom (street) side, recessed against the chassis to match the existing countersinks on the chassis (on right side of image).

My plan is to drill 4mm thru holes and then use some sort of shaped punch to indent the outer rim of the hole to contour to the chassis countersink. I'm not a machinist by trade, so i'm not expecting to get millimetrically perfect results, but would this tool do the job?
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000936R1O/
I don't have a machine shop, so this would just be myself in my garage with some 2x4's, a 4mm drill bit, a mini sledge and the metal flat bar. Would that work well enough?

20220718_163853.jpg

A larger diameter drill bit to match or slightly exceed the head of the screw would also work. Just drill your through hole first then use the other bit to get to a flush depth.

A larger diameter drill bit to match or slightly exceed the head of the screw would also work. Just drill your through hole first then use the other bit to get to a flush depth.
If i wanted to match the image on the left, but I'm trying to match the image on the right. The left image would mean the skid is relying solely on the shear strength of the screws to keep in place. If the holes are recessed, then the chassis itself can absorb some of that force. That's my thought anyway.

Your best bet is a countersink bit. You “can” use a larger drill but you run the risk of the metal pulling the bit through when material is that thing. A center punch won’t get you very far, you need to remove the material or else you’ll just deform it.

Edit: nvm, I see the recent response.