Kraton Does this Motor sound normal?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mark_paul

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 4s
Hi Guys.

I posted last year with an issue I had after my Kraton 6s had a large frontal impact. After the winter, and a rebuild of a Rustler I'm back to troubleshooting the Kraton. I'm a relative noob when it comes to all this, hence the Rustler rebuild to help knowledge-wise.

Old Thread https://www.arrmaforum.com/threads/limited-speed-and-strange-noise.13623/

From the previous thread, it seemed that it may be the centre diff, but that looks immaculate so I decided to test the motor while not connected to anything.

To me, it seems to not be performing as id expect, but I've never ran this motor on its own so couldn't tell.

What do you guys think, does this motor sound ok?

If that appears ok, ill move onto the front diff as that's what took the biggest impact.

Any help would be great.

Ok! So all three diffs have been checked and there are no obvious signs of damage (no missing teeth, nothing snapped etc). Saying that though the front diff is definitely making a strange sound when it is in place and meshed.

Can any experts cast their ear over this video and see what they think.

Motor sounds perfectly normal

The front diff also sounds okay, maybe a tiny bit tight on the pinion/ring gear mesh? Check if the input gear has any play or any damage. This will be way easier with the whole front bulkhead off

Whilst the bulkhead is off I would check if there's any cracks or damage in the diff housing

Lastly you'll notice that you may have a shim at the bearing on the ring gear side of the diff. You can try putting that on the other bearing facing outwards if the mesh still feels a little notchy. And don't overtighten the diff housing cover when putting it back on ?

Cheers Guys. Think my issue is im not 100% sure how the diff should feel when removed.