Kraton Dry rear diff, what would you do?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chaosmage

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
Hello, im a noob.

What would you do if you see this in your rear diff?
- clean and lube, leave it as is
- replace the diff box, clean and lube
- replace everything

And how did it all dry out? i see its my fault, but was it leaking or too much water?

IMG_0022.jpeg

Well I'd clean the housing as best I could.
Open up the diff and check the internals, see if that has oil. Brush off the rust on the metal parts. Diff has two o-rings inside, check and/or replace.
Shim if required, reinstall diff and shim ring side. if everything feels and turns fine, add grease on the ring and pinion. Put her back together and let her rip!

I would clean everything and you definitely need new bearings! If there is play in the drive cups/diff housing I would replace it. Otherwise after a few runs I would check everything again and if it’s dry again replace the housing. Is there any oil in side the diffs or are those also dry?

I would clean everything and you definitely need new bearings! If there is play in the drive cups/diff housing I would replace it. Otherwise after a few runs I would check everything again and if it’s dry again replace the housing. Is there any oil in side the diffs or are those also dry?
Oh forgot about the bearings ??

You only drive salt water bashing at beach?

You have dirty sandy rig in pictures.

Always make Rig Clean before you start take off diffs please.

You can never do a good job because all of that dirt and sand you have there.

Wash and make your rig clean next time , before you start take off parts that needs be clean and special clean take care off please.

GODDAMN

iF you drive at salt water beaches alot, you must do alot things.

Green grease. Ever heard of this ? WD40 also alot.