Granite ESC overheating on Granite Mega?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Infraction
  3. Kraton 6s
  4. Vorteks
I'm new to the hobby but I've been trying my best to educate myself a lot before purchasing. Ended up with a Granite Mega and I love it. Here's the issue I've noticed...

The heatsink on my ESC has been getting pretty hot. Like I could probably burn myself if I touch it long enough. This happens after about 10 minutes of run time in a mixture of street and grass(lawn). I checked the battery with my Spektrum smart charger and it was at 50% battery life. So I'm assuming my ESC overheated? The car slowed down to a crawl, so I'm assuming there is a failsafe in there that prevents the car from running so as not to burn the ESC and/or motor.

I turned the car off in the correct order(car then radio) and disconnected the battery. Nothing major happened, it just slowed way down. The grass needs to be mowed so it was going through some pretty thick mess but for the time I had to run it... man did it tear some serious ass!

If anyone see's this, and has any recommendations on how to solve this issue, I'd appreciate it. I eventually want to upgrade the whole car(suspension, motor, esc, wheels, body, etc). So even if the suggestion is a new brushless motor/esc combo, I'd take that to heart too. Anyways, sorry for the long ass post. Just want to make sure I nail everything as far as what happened so some of you veterans can help a brother out diagnose and fix the issue. Thanks!

I'm new to the hobby but I've been trying my best to educate myself a lot before purchasing. Ended up with a Granite Mega and I love it. Here's the issue I've noticed...