Fan help for a complete noob.

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sledgehog

Very Active Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Talion
Picked up the yeah racing dual tornado fan as it both had good reviews, and I see it mentioned quite a bit here. I've never soldered anything in my life mind you. This is going into a Talion v3 2018 model
Capture.JPG
I'm a lil' confused as to how I should actually install it. Do I just have to extend the receiver plug somehow on it so it reaches, or is it necessary to use a Y-harness and attach it to the esc somehow for the benefit of the built-in BEC?

Which way is the recommended installation, and what exactly will I need please?

Thanks in advance.

Hi just get an extended plug! text me anytime for help. I just got the fan and the talion 2 days ago, but its really easy to install.

I cut the jst connectors off of the fan wires/leads. Splice positive and negative leads from fans together.

cut off female end of receiver wire extension leaving male connector. remove the 3rd lead so you are left with only positive/negative (purchased from link below). Cut to desired length.
https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?mpre=https://www.ebay.com/ulk/itm/161190215988

Splice and solder to spliced fan leads to receiver connector leads. Plug into any open port on receiver.

Use heatshrink tubing to make it clean install.
I use computer cpu/gpu thermal pads inside of the heatsink.
D6E81EB3-95D5-4F6A-A13F-2CD4A84F6DB1.jpeg
2B86C0D5-325D-4755-945C-3ECDBB13811D.jpeg
82D8020F-48B3-47FF-8282-C4837161CDE6.jpeg

Last edited:
Picked up the yeah racing dual tornado fan as it both had good reviews, and I see it mentioned quite a bit here. I've never soldered anything in my life mind you. This is going into a Talion v3 2018 model
View attachment 24861