Few LiPo Questions (Spektrum G2 Batteries)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Adamator

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
Since I just got into this hobby a few months ago, I invested in the Spektrum G2 Batteries. I like them a lot so far and haven't had any issues.

These questions may be more general LiPo related, but just wanted to mention the kind I have.

How long do LiPos typically last these days? (Until they are kind of worn out and no longer perform good.)

These Spektrum batteries show information such as charge cycles and I was wondering what constitutes a "cycle?" I ask because my 3S LiPo, which I have only had maybe 2 months, shows about a 100 cycles and that just seems kind of high. I know for a fact I have not charged the thing 100 times. I haven't even charged it 50 times.

With regards to storage, since I am new to this and working from home, I run my Granite almost daily at lunch. Sometimes I take it to a nearby area, and sometimes I just take it out front. After using my LiPo, I have been charging it back to full and letting the auto discharge feature do it's thing for the times I don't use the battery. (I currently have auto discharge set to 48 hours.) Is how I am charging these a good practice or should I change it?

Thanks!

So I’m not the expert on the G2 stuff….I thinks it’s kind of neat the info and stuff. A little bit expensive for me. If you are using it every day or every other day I think you are fine with the setup for 48hrs. Not sure the cycles but you should get a 2-3 years out of the lipo if treated correctly. Also wait until the pack cools off to recharge or storage charge.