Typhon Fluid recommendations...Typhon and Fireteam

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dcmkx2001

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Bought an on sale fireteam like many others. Read that some people have run into some questionable assembly out of the box and decided to go over mine thoroughly before running. I also have a 6s typhon that only has about 6 battery packs ran through it. I am going to open up the diffs, shim if needed, and check the fluid in that as well. I've never worked on a diff before, but want to have the fluid on hand if they need some added. Going off each manual, I would 7,000, 10,000, and 200,000 to cover both vehicles.

I run the typhon mainly on pavement and I'm going to run the fireteam everywhere. I don't really jump, get my cars too dirty, and I'm a pretty conservative driver that doesn't abuse my cars like the average Arrma owner...even though I know they can take it.

Any reason to change to different weight fluids? I don't even know if I'd notice a difference if I did. Not a racer or anything. If so, what weights would you recommend?

I would say just check the shims and keep whatever is in there. I hardly think you'd notice any difference sense you're not really running your cars or just try different combos yourself see what you like.

If you are just bashing then diff fluid tuning is easy and everyone has their own personal preference. If you already have the diffs apart you may as well change the fluid as it will be very light fluid usually 7 or 10k. I'd recommend for general bashing or fun 50k/200k/30k F/C/R diffs. But again that's my opinion.

I really like the feeling of super light weights in the rear. Think I'm at 3000cst rear now, the car handles so much 'quicker', not like it's dragging it's ass around a corner.