Granite Granite BLX 3S Stripped Pinion and Spur Gear

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Granite
  2. Kraton 6s
  3. Senton 6s
  4. Typhon 6s
I have a Granite 4x4 BLX 3S that's a couple of months old. Yesterday it started making a grinding noise and started losing power during hard acceleration. It seems like the pinion and spur gear are stripped. The housing/back plate also seems to be grounded down. I am fairly new to RC and am at a loss of what may have caused this. Any ideas?

Attachments

• image1.jpeg
    image1.jpeg
    226.9 KB · Views: 322
  • image2.jpeg
    image2.jpeg
    308.7 KB · Views: 131
Hi and welcome on the forum.

The motor pinion and spur gear's mesh is always too tight on the 3s BLX. I have widen the preset motor position hole to gain more space between the gears. I did it by hand with a 3mm drill bit, the aluminum is pretty soft, it is easy to do. I have also changed the spur for a metal one. And as i have the V1 (BRCC), i must had to change all the slipper also.

The bearing looks wasted, look inside the motor cover and dig it out and I bet you will find it seized or tons of play in it causing a wobble

The bearing looks wasted, look inside the motor cover and dig it out and I bet you will find it seized or tons of play in it causing a wobble
I had a similar problem with my Granite recently. also a couple of months old. A motor bearing went bad and caused the wobble suchtragedy mentioned. I had the metal spur gear, so that was fine, but my pinion gear was destroyed. The fix was a new motor, new pinion. Open up the motor, check the bearings. There's a chance you'll be able to just replace the bearings. I couldn't the bad bearing was hopelessly stuck. I'm in the process of seeing if the motor and pinion will be covered under warranty.

*EDIT - Horizon Hobby is providing a new motor and pinion under warranty

Last edited: