Help finding wheels and tires for Senton 4x4

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bikerbob951

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Senton 6s
  2. 4x4-Mega
I've been looking for suitable road-oriented wheels to swap onto my new Senton 4x4 to preserve the stock tires, since most of my lunchtime bash sessions will be on pavement. I'm very new to rc trucks so I'm still learning, and it seems that finding suitable wheels that won't skew the gearing too badly may be difficult. Also, these wheels use a 14mm hex, which seems like a very odd size.

Here's the stock wheel and tire specs:
  • Black nylon wheels, 14mm hex hub
  • 2.2" (56mm) outer bead, 3.0" (76mm) inner bead
  • dBoots Fortress multi-surface tires with foam inserts
  • 1.7" (42mm) wide, 4.1" (104mm) diameter
How hard would it be to swap to a more standard hex hub each time I switch wheels? Also, goes without saying but I'd prefer a wheel option on the cheaper end of the spectrum.

Wow. I wonder why Arrma decided to go with 14mm hexes on this? I thought finding 17mm short course wheels was difficult for my Senton BLX. I can't find anything for 14mm short course wheels. I'll keep looking though and let you know if I find anything but it would probably be the best if you could switch the hex out to 12mm. That would greatly open your options for short course wheels.

14mm is not real common, especialy for Short course.

I did fine these Traxxas "Slayer pro" SCT wheels, 14mm hex, no idea of the offset -
https://www.amainhobbies.com/traxxa...atin-chrome-black2-slayer-pro-tra5974/p182953

Then add any SC tire.
Maybe https://www.amainhobbies.com/prolin...slick-tires-2-m4-pro10113-03/p448141?v=439408
Or
https://www.amainhobbies.com/duratrax-bandito-sc-onroad-tire-c3-2-dtxc3798/p642441

Or - Option three and cheapest - buy another set of the stock tires, and just burn one down -
https://www.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXGWZN&P=ML