Kraton Hobbywing 4985 1650kv vs castle 1717 1650kv

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kaden1308

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to decide if a should get the 4985 or the casel 1717 1650kv like does one run cooler than the other is one more powerful and I have the mmx8s

On an MMX 8s my Castle 1717 1650kv runs cool: on a 72F day it only reached a high temp of 108F (per a temp gun) after ten minutes of full throttle runs, and that's without a fan. And it will do a 360 degree back flip on grass without the wing or wheelie bar touching the ground, land on the wheels, and keep going. I have no experience with the Hobbywing 4985.

I'm trying to decide if a should get the 4985 or the casel 1717 1650kv like does one run cooler than the other is one more powerful and I have the mmx8s
Go with HW! I've blown TWO 1717 motors on my Mojave EXB. They just don't hold up to extreme bashing and jumps. Trust me. HW 1650KV motor is the boss as far as I'm concerned. Castle is more for speed runs and street bashing. That's been my experience so far.

If you already have the mmx8 I’d finish off with castle n go sensored 1717,

If you were picking combos I’d still suggest castle.. this is biased as I have no hw products lol.

BTW I put these motors and ESCS head to head (HW Max 6 vs MMX8S). I have two Mojave EXBS. Same gearing, same tires, same batteries and I saw no difference off road performance. Save yourself some $ and get the HW. That's what I would do. You only see a performance difference in high speed situations (on road speed runs and bashing on road) that's the only time I've seen Castle beat HW. The Castle systems are better than for speed runs and street bashing. Trust me. 👍

castle, easier to use an way more power.