Hobbywing is giving me 3 warranty options

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sumguy75

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Rig of the Month Winner
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Notorious
  2. Talion
  3. Typhon 6s
Decided to try the warranty process with Hobbywing. From the sounds of their replies, they are confident its not their fault (shocking :rolleyes:) and that bad gear mesh probably caused my motor bearing to explode. This is from a Stampede 2wd, I'm no RC expert, but gear mesh is pretty easy to set right. Leave a small amount of space between the gears so that it will give a slight tick when turned. I also have plastic spur gears and when I was a newb bad gear mesh would chew them up easily. hard to believe it would explode a quality bearing in a quality motor, could it have?

When I inspected my truck after it failed, the gear mesh seemed tighter than I set it, but the shaft seemed to be coming out of the can at a slight angle so I assumed that was why since the spur and pinion looked perfectly fine. I've used Lunsford titanium motor screws with blue loctite for months now and haven't had it ever loosen up before.

My options:

Option 1: Send it in to be inspected, if they decide it is not my fault, a free replacement. If they think it is my fault, $5 off a replacement. Based on what I've seen about their customer service and some of the condescending remarks in their email, they will most likely say its my fault.

Option 2: Send motor in and pay $40 for a replacement after they receive it regardless of what their inspection finds.

Option 3: No need to send in motor, pay $50 for a replacement.

Since I have to pay to ship it in for option 2, it will cost about the same as option 3.

Feels like a game of Lets Make a Deal and somehow I'm going to be stuck with the donkey behind the curtain instead of the new car. :LOL: