Hobbywing motor fan and heatsink alterations

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toddys

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Under normal to extreme kraton bashing, I am experiencing higher than acceptable temperatures. 180 degrees for example. I just purchased the hobbywing ez run fan for the motor. in evaluating the heatsink that comes with it I am planning 2 cut off the sides, drill holes and wire zip tie it on. My thinking is that no matter the intention of a heat sink any additional contact with the motor that shrouds it will contribute to excess heat buildup via some sort of insulating characteristic. Additionally, I plan to cut out a square directly underneath the fan so that the air blows directly on the motor can and not into the heat sink. Since I am no engineer it appears again that there's an insulating quality to the heatsink and that by opening up for direct airflow onto the can I will be cooling more efficiently. The analogy is; do you cool your body by having a ceiling fan and being under the covers or on top of the covers? Unless I don't understand the principles of how a heat sink works I can't see how blowing cool air over the aluminum is going to be better than blowing cool or fresh air directly over the can. Anybody have any thoughts?