How do you recover from night shift?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've been doing night shift for over 20 years. My schedule is 12 hour shifts (8pm to 8am) 7 days in a row then 7 days off. Basically I work every other week. The key for me is to not do too much during my work week. My work week consists of work, eat , sleep. I try to not to do anything extra. I focus on those 3 things for 7days straight. Then when I'm off the 7 days I do as I please. One recovery technique I've learned is to let my body do whatever it feels in those first 1 to 2 days. I don't force any activity. If I feel good enough to run errands or do other things (like RC) then I do them until I get tired. If I'm tired I sleep...keep it simple. That first day off is tough but by the 2nd or 3rd day I'm back to whatever routine life has in store. I set up a few goals that I want to attain weekly and give myself the whole week to get those done. When I was younger I'd work extra shifts on my week off for some extra cash. Now that I just turned 50 I have NO desire to work any extra. My off time is MINES and I guard it ferociously. I do feel some of the "slow down" you speak of but at 50 I feel like I shouldn't be doing the same things I was doing when I was 30 or 40 anyway. As I've aged my "IDontGiveADamn" meter is steadily increasing and I've become a happier man because of it. I've also come down with a severe case of the "F@#k Its" compounded with an new infection known as "Who Gives A S%$T-itis".
That all sound very familiar to me. I'm the same, when I'm on NS its work, eat, sleep repeat. work, eat, sleep repeat.
"I set up a few goals that I want..." Me too. I make a To Do List for the week off otherwise I get to the end of my time off and haven't done f@ck all.