How do you solder these or protect the solder?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parcou

Premium Member!
Premium Member
Hospitality Award
Rig of the Month Winner
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock
  2. Felony
  3. Fireteam
  4. Granite
  5. Infraction
  6. Kraton EXB
  7. Talion EXB
  8. Typhon TLR
  9. Vorteks
OK

I am not good at soldering and hate it. I buy the Spektrum IC5 although they cost more it is easier for me to have the ends in the holder and the half cup to solder the wire to. Last I just slide the cap over it and done.

The blue EC5 connectors are cheap and I can get a lot more for the money but I am challenged with those soldering in the bowl-like cup of the connector...I'm messy and never cleanly done. Last, I have to hammer them into the blue housing. Sorry just not easy for me compared to the IC5 (not adding the smart wire to any)

Then I found these for sale...they are already in the blue housing and have the half cup-like connector like the IC5. What they do not say or I do not understand is how I hide or protect the wire at the soldered connection.

Do I use heat shrink? Is that good enough for bashing it not in the housing? Normal blue connection the wire end in hammered down in the harness and soldered connection not see. Not in this case...?

1647972044436.png

Bullet Connectors Pre-Installed in Plastic Housing​

• Pre-installed 5MM bullets into EC5 compatible housing
  • Capable of 120 continuous amps w/ 10 awg wire
  • 5MM bullet connectors
  • Ergonomically pleasing and easy to grip
  • Protected to avoid shorting and reverse polarity
  • Superior technology suited to today's advanced applications
  • Designed with convenience and reliability in mind
Each unit contains (5) blue plastic housings, (10) installed 5MM male bullets

That's kind of weird - never seen those connectors before with the contacts pre-inserted.