Hydrodipping RC Bodies (How To)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr.Duke

Community Leader
Premium Member
ArrmaForum Fan
Excellence Award
Build Thread Contributor
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Infraction
  2. Limitless
  3. Kraton 6s
  4. Notorious
  5. Outcast 6s
  6. Talion
  7. Typhon 6s
I decided recently that instead of paying someone else to creat a highly detailed custom body for one of my rc's, I would take the plunge and figure out how to hydro dip my own.

I am by no means an expert at any of the following, but after doing it myself and being pleased with the results, I wanted to share a step by step of how I went about the process.

First, let me start out by saying that dipping the inside of an RC body falls outside of how the traditional hydro dipping process works. How this usually works is you have a part or item that you want to dip so the first few steps involve scuffing the part in preparation for a primer coat on the part followed by a base color coat that serves as a backing color for the design printed on the film you'll be dipping with. Because you'll be applying the image to the inside of the body as opposed to the outside, the sequence for application is reversed.

If the traditional hydrodipping process is completely foreign to you, there's a ton of instructional videos out there to watch detailing how this is done when applying to the outside of an item. If you want to dip plastics like a transmitter or other rc related parts these steps will be what you'll follow.

What I'm going to focus on in this thread are the limitations and unique steps that are needed to apply the design to the inside of a polycarbonate body.

Supplies Needed

- Clean, trimmed and final fitted body, ready for paint

- Hydrographic film