Senton If a brushed motor was smoking but still works is it ok to use that motor?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ConVail1127

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. 4x4-Mega
  2. Granite
Ok so I own a slash so I asked the traxxas forums which are basically dead so I thought why not ask the arrma forum (Way better) but anyway The brushed motor (Titan 550 12t) on my traxxas slash was smoking so I turned it of and dumped a little water on it. Then waited a bit and tried turning it on and it worked fine. But is it a serious problem that I should fix or is it just fine? Im also new to the hobby so it was probably my own stupidity that caused it?

It is probably on it way out but you could probably use for now. I am also new so take that with a grain of salt

Could be fine until it dies a horrible death or it can take out the ESC with it. Really depends on how it fails. If the magnets shatter due to the kevlar being broken you could end up shorting the wingdings and that will be the end of your ESC. Seen it a couple times with other forum members, never happened to myself.
Get yourself a motor fan to avoid this from the get go.

You can continue running it till all the smoke comes out. Once all the smoke is out of the motor it will no longer run. If your brushed motor is working to hard , like running on grass , it will overheat. If you install a pinion with fewer teeth it will lessen the load on the motor , but will also limit your top speed.

Ok so I own a slash so I asked the traxxas forums which are basically dead so I thought why not ask the arrma forum (Way better) but anyway The brushed motor (Titan 550 12t) on my traxxas slash was smoking so I turned it of and dumped a little water on it. Then waited a bit and tried turning it on and it worked fine. But is it a serious problem that I should fix or is it just fine? Im also new to the hobby so it was probably my own stupidity that caused it?