Big Rock I'm a newbie to rc's and I just ordered my first one, the Big Rock. What's the first thing I should do?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jester13

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
I'm a newbie to rc's and I just ordered my first one, the Big Rock. What's the first thing I should do after I get it out the box? I've seen different things about the wheels and motor mount. Any ideas?

Hello and Welcome to the forum, first thing I like to do is go over eveything and make sure eveything seems to be in good working order ( wheels spin smooth arms move freely, etc, and I also check every nut and screw, bolt to make sure none are loose.

Yea what they said and endpoints on the servo very important and when you take it out take it easy make sure everything sounds right and works right before you give it hell lol respect your rc and remember you have a warranty with horizan so don't get too worked up if something breaks ( 🤞🏼)

Yep. Check all the screws are right. Maybe loctite the stubs in the axle as they will come out at some point. Upgrade or replace when you need to. I genuinely think a lot of upgrades don't do a great amount and a lot of trouble can be avoided by improving driving skills; don't land on full throttle; don't do 10 minute donuts; don't crash into a tree etc etc. And skate parks are lethal unless you're on it - and even then it's a harsh environment. Absolutely change things if you want your truck to look different (and things such as wings and roll hoops will definitely protect the body) but enjoy it first before you spend £££s fixing what isn't broken.

Steering and throttle calibration

Set punch to 5

Loc-tite the axles to the driveshafts

I'd also advise taking steps to save your motor bearing, but that can be a complicated process to do right from the start. As for upgrades, drive it, find out what breaks, don't upgrade anything unless you need to.