Kraton Kraton 6s V5 ESC cooling fan programming port question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RC617

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Sorry in advance for the very elementary question but I'm extremely new to RC's. I just bought a very lightly used Kraton 6S V5 yesterday, which is my first RC car. The previous owner had a motor cooling fan installed which I removed as currently I don't need it. That being said it's unclear to me what to do with the wire/jumper the cooling fan was connected to that comes out of the ESC. The ESC manual doesn't really get into this aspect that I could find. I was able to find unboxing videos that one of the connectors are actually plugged into the ESC cooling fan programming port. Before I did this I wanted to make sure this was correct and I wasn't shorting something out. To summarize, should the connector shown in the picture be plugged into the ESC cooling fan programming port? As bonus, any additional information on this port and wire leads would be appreciated.
Capture.PNG

Where does the other end of that y harness go (not the one going to the motor)? Is it the ESC fan connector? If so just plug that in to the ESC. The only thing should need to do is unplug the connector that goes to the motor fans. That Y connector can stay. I think these versions of the ESC came with a Y connector stock.

Also, previous owner may have installed the motor fan for extra protection while running the speed pinion. I would check what pinion you have on there if you haven't already.

Where does the other end of that y harness go (not the one going to the motor)? Is it the ESC fan connector? If so just plug that in to the ESC. The only thing should need to do is unplug the connector that goes to the motor fans. That Y connector can stay. I think these versions of the ESC came with a Y connector stock.