Kraton Kraton EXB Tire options

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smilozar

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hi all

Curious to hear about your experience with the Pro-line 3.8 belted Badlands and Trenchers tires on the 6s Kraton. I am still very new to the rc world and I tried installing the Pro-line’s on a Traxxas e-revo brushless 1.0 with some pretty bad results. I broke 1 front diff, 4 rear diffs (including my latest attempt with all aluminum diff housings + spiral gears), as well as several plastic center and wheel driveshafts on the e-revo (which I subsequently upgraded to steel ones). I must also add that the Pro-line tires have a significantly larger circumference than the original Talon Sporttraxx that the e-revo came with and I did not change any gearing. I am now scared to install the Badlands/Trenchers on my newly built Kraton EXB.

My EXB has the Mamba Monster x 8s and 1717 1650kv motor with cooling fans installed. I have also changed diff oil to 50/100/50. I would appreciate if anyone could share some insight into whether I can run the Pro-line tires on here without worrying about breaking any more diffs (or anything else on the driveline for that matter). For what its worth, a quick visual check confirms that the the Pro-line tires are almost exactly the same circumference as the dBoots Copperhead 2 that the EXB came with. However when weighing the tires there is a significant difference in weight.

Talon Sporttraxx = 242grams
dBoots Copperhead 2 = 360grams
Pro-line Badlands 3.8 belted = 420grams
Pro-line Trenshers 3.8 belted = 521grams (I have the aluminum hex inserts installed on these)

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Last edited:
I have the forty series trenchers and I love them. They are heavy but I liked these cause I like the narrower look opposed to the trencher x

ECA06E12-B12B-4D34-99F7-76D0D9787B86.jpeg