Kraton Kraton Upgrade Question

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Hey all. I am a total noob. Haven't raced RC since the mid 90's with my Lunch Box and Grass Hopper.

I have a Kraton V3 on order, and I see people discussing shimming the diffs and changing the servo.

The only thing I want to do right off the bat is change the tires. How critical are those other mods? I am not really skilled enough to pull apart the diffs and start messing around, it will never go back. Will not doing these affect the performance enough for someone of my skill to notice?

Are you running 4s or 6s? I wouldn't worry about shimming them until you run 6s. It handles the power of 4s fine.

Starting out I would buy some quality batteries, a good charger and maybe some backflip tires if you can find them. I hate the Minokawa's.

I run mostly 4s in my cars with the occasional 6s and have shimmed one of them since I was changing the diff oil anyways. The other two I have not shimmed or changed oil in yet and they have been fine. All three of mine are still rocking the stock servo. They are not the fastest or strongest servos but they do work. I would say use the factory servo but know that the stock servo doesn't last for most people and be prepared for it to go out and upgrade. Or you could upgrade now and keep the factory as a spare.

I would honestly say just to do a normal ready to run procedure, check for stripped screws, check mesh, check throttle and steering endpoints, check servo saver, etc.. and then upgrade as needed/wanted.

If you have not run RC's since the '90s, then just start on 4s. 6s would be asking for trouble. Maybe swap the stock 12t pinion for a 14t or 16t (I run a 14t) and call it good. Give your self time to learn to control the power.

Plus, on 4s, you don't really need to shim the diffs, unless you go huge on the tires.