Lipo batteries

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Senton4x4

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
I am new to the lipo batteries and I have a question. If I run 2 lipo batteries in series does the c-rating and mah add up? Like if I were to run 2-2s batteries that are 35c and 5000mah will all of that multiply times 2?

I am new to the lipo batteries and I have a question. If I run 2 lipo batteries in series does the c-rating and mah add up? Like if I were to run 2-2s batteries that are 35c and 5000mah will all of that multiply times 2?
In series you will be basically be creating a 4s, 35c, 5000mah battery. If you were to wire it up in parallel, you would be creating a 2s, 35c, 10,000mah battery. In series the c and mah rating stays the same and the voltage doubles and in parallel the voltage and c rating stay the same but the mah rating doubles.

In series you will be basically be creating a 4s, 35c, 5000mah battery. If you were to wire it up in parallel, you would be creating a 2s, 35c, 10,000mah battery. In series the c and mah rating stays the same and the voltage doubles and in parallel the voltage and c rating stay the same but the mah rating doubles.
Whats the difference between series and parallel? How can I tell which one is which?

Whats the difference between series and parallel? How can I tell which one is which?
Here is an image that I puled off of google images.
Parallel-verse-Series-300x238.jpg

With parallel, you are basically combining the + and - of both packs together. You end up with the same voltage as 1 pack, but double capacity and C rating.

When in series, the + from one pack goes to the esc, the - goes to the + of the second pack and the - of the second pack goes to the esc. This doubles the voltage, but retains the same C and MAH.

EDIT: @chevys10zr2003 posted an image while I was mindlessly typing.