Kraton Lipo Battery Usage

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Drughi

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
This is my first time using Lipo Batteries and a bit worried after seeing many reviews of smoke fire etc.

My query is you charge the batteries (balance Charge) a night before to use between 2-3 days after, if for some reason I do not manage to use how do i discharge. Can this be done by the charger?

Also they say not to drain your batteries, it means that at a certain time while driving the car i have to stop or the batteries will show this (you see the car too slow) and need to be changed?
Also after a good drive you need to recharge to full or else for storage, does it have to be within the same day?

Thanks

Always balance charge prior to running. I don't like charging the night before a run but rather charge as close to the run.

Do not leave lipos fully charged for days. For some reason you don't run them that day, you will need to discharge them to storage charge. This is something your charger should be able to do.

After running your lipos you will have to put them in storage mode for the next time you use them. You can do this when you get home.

Your rig should have LVC cutoff that warns you that your lipo is low. Never run them past LVC, and never drain them down. LVC is set at different levels from different makes, around 3.2 to 3.4V per cell. At lvc the car will slow and esc will blink, immediately stop running and disconnect the lipo.

Lipos are safe as long as you know what you're doing and treat them right like I outlined above. I've been running them for 15 years with no problems. There are many threads about lipos in here, just do a search
Also many good write ups online. Sure someone will provide some links for you soon. Don't be paranoid using them but at the same time respect them, and in no time you will be a pro!??