Big Rock Looking to buy my first RC Car - Arrma Kraton 4S, Granite 3S or Big Rock 3S

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Uz3r

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
Hi All, Im new hear - I hope I am posting in the right forum! I have no experience with RC cars but my Dad recently purchased an Arrma Typhon 3S. I had a play with it and fell in LOVE so I want to buy my own RC Car!

I've done research and decided I want an Arrma 4x4 truck/truggy and so have narrowed it down to the either the Kraton 4S, Granite 3S or Big Rock 3S but not sure which to pull the trigger on. I'd love some feedback on my thoughts on each below

Kraton 4S
- More expensive than I'd like to spend on my first car but I could stretch if it really is justifiable
- Potentially too big and fast for my first car, but I think the remote has a 50/75/100% throttle limiter switch on it - so I could use this to ease into it?
- Love the look of it

Granite 3S
- Good price-point
- Love the look of it
- Im worried the high ride height and short wheel base will mean I'll be doing wheelies, spinning out and flipping more than I want (we like wheelies but not all the time?)

Big Rock 3S
- Good price point
- My least favorite looking of the three (the wheels looks horrible to me)- but I like the rest of it.
- The slightly longer wheelbase might mean less issues with wheelies and spin outs? But I've been seeing lots of reports about it being prone to flipping when turning on throttle.

I'll be driving on all sorts - grass, dirt, bitumen so I guess Im after versatility and stability (as much as you can get from a truck/truggy). I might try jumps but not for a while until I feel comfortable and I'll be keeping it small time for quite a while.