Typhon Lost interesting grinding sound

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slicky Slang

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Typhon 3s
Hi guys I'm new to RC, I bought myself an Arrma Typhon 3s recently and I really enjoy bashing it about on dusty BMX tracks.
Recently I cleaned my car, gave it a good scrub down using some soapy water, WD40 and then dried it off in the Sun (it was a hot day).
The vehicle seems to be working fine however it has lost that Interesting clicking or grinding sound that you get when you push or roll the car by hand.
Have I messed something up inside by cleaning the car in this way?
How do I get this sound back and what causes this sound In the first place?

Any advice much appreciated

I try to not use plenty water cleaning my rigs. Lots of compressed air and paint and toothbrush. Simple green and water in a spray bottle sparingly. Wipe down with some wd on the plastics and parts after thoroughly dry.The sound you hear is the pinion/spur, drivetrain and motor. Don't see how cleaning with soap and water would quiet all that especially if it was dryed.

If my rigs are dirty beyond what the air compressor will blow off, I completely disassemble them and clean each part in a soapy bucket of hot water. Obviously I don’t wash electronics or bearings this way, but all plastics and non corrosive metals get a hot bath. While doing this, I also evaluate all bearings, pivot balls, etc. I also take this time to evaluate fluids in the diffs and shocks. This is a few hour job, so I don’t do it often, but it’s necessary when you bring home more dirt than RC.

Thanks for replying back, some great tips on using compressed air, less water and 'Simple Green'. I'll try and find an alternative product here in the UK.