Max6 vs Max8 vs Hobbywing quicrun wp 150a esc

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lufkin25

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
Honest, I looked and did not see a thread like this posted here. If there is, please let me know.
I am fairly new to all of this and still learning, so bare with me please. I see a lot of people talking about the max8 esc and before that the max6 was all the talk. But I have also seen videos and read people running the 150 amp waterproof hobbywing quicrun-wp-8BL-150. My question is the max8 esc for $130 really better than the HW quicrun for $90? Looking to maybe do a motor and esc upgrade. Maybe just a motor... still searching for my options there (there are a lot of them) lol thanks in advance for any help!

The quicrun is the least powerful of the 3 you mentioned. The biggest motor it can run is the stock 4074 can that comes in all the 6s trucks, perfectly fine for the job but I wouldn't push it any more, I'd consider it an 8th scale buggy esc.

The max8 is a little beefier than the quicrun. It's basically an 8th scale monster truck esc. Good for motors up to 4082 size.

The max6 is a light 5th scale scale esc, right at home in something like a Traxxas Xmaxx (heavy 6th scale) with a castle 1717 (4585) sized motor. It's also 8s lipo capable compared to the other 2 that are only 6s capable.