Minokawa taping

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaptainQ

Reaction score
Arrma RC's
hi there,

Newbie here, didn't get my Kraton yet, my first RC... but I was wondering... is it possible to remove the tire glue on the stock Minokawa dboots (without destroying those) to tape them inside, to prevent ballooning.... ?

Thx

You can remove them, using heat gun, or bake them in the oven (320-325 degrees for 15 minutes or so) boil them in water (probably least recommended). Some use a gallon paint can with about an inch or so of rocks in the bottom and some acetone poured in (not above the rocks) put the tires in and put the lid on for a day. The vapor breaks down the glue. Personally I use a heat gun. The tire will separate easily when it gets hot enough. You will definately need gloves. That being said, I don't tape tires. Never had it last. 500k fluid in the center diff will cut way down on the fronts ballooning. If you are going to run "speed runs" use belted on road tires.

that sounds dangerous ahah, thx
I read posts about debonder, have you ever tried that?
I did get some better titres, dboots backflip, just I want to make the best use of the stock while they last

that sounds dangerous ahah, thx
I read posts about debonder, have you ever tried that?
I did get some better titres, dboots backflip, just I want to make the best use of the stock while they last