Mojave Motor/ESC suggestions for Mojave EXB

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Synthesis

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Hello guys, I have been doing a lot of research and wanted some input on which one to put into my new Mojave EXB. This is my first Arrma product, I'm excited to try it out. One of my other vehicles, a Proline Pro MT 4x4 has a Hobbywing EZRun Max8 2200kv system but I am wanting to go with a sensored setup as I have yet to experience that in any of my vehicles. My top pick is the Castle Mamba Monster X 8S 1/6 ESC/Motor Combo w/1717 1650kV as it seems a good all around choice for performance and ease of installation. That being said I can't help but want what MFM is doing in his "Mo powa baby! (1100kv build)" thread and stuffing a huge 2028 in there but admittedly it seems a bit extreme... however I could be persuaded. I am no expert by a long shot, but here are some issues I foresee with that setup: extra parts to buy, a bit more work to install, more weight (I'd like it to have a sweet spot between handing, durability and overall performance). Here are some of the desires that I have, I want this truck to be fast, good acceleration and if I could get at least 60mph that would be great. I definitely want the system to run cool enough to be able to just rip with reckless abandon and run packs back to back if possible, I'd probably run 4s or 6s due to weight and battery pack space. If all that wasn't a tall enough order I would like to have as much runtime as I can get so if the 2028 is a battery hog then I would certainly be more inclined to go with the 1717 system. Thank you in advance for any intel you can provide for me. What do you guys have to say, what are your experiences with either of these systems?