Kraton My journey to better steering (Kraton V4 on grass track)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mnemikk

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 6s
Hey guys,

TL DR:
Can't steer under load in tight corners, what to do?

I was bashing this summer on 50k 200k 20k 6S 16T Punch on 7 - Great fun, lots of flips and doublebackflips but also hard learning about broken diffs, correct shimming, and so forth. It is my first year in this hobby.

My friends and I built a grass track last week with some tight corners and 2 bigger jumps. (the three small ones are already gone)
Allthough 50k in the front kept my front wheels from spinning I was not able to do hard turns, the radius was just off the rails and I had to steer without gas, almost at crawler speed or brake hard before a corner to be able to steer at all.
So no competition to my friends 3 E-Revos. In fact they still laugh about me buying the Kraton having diff problems and so forth. (Besides I really have to say those Revos had 0 Issues, and outperformed me on every surface, they are still stock except rod stuff)

Anyways, I though my problem is the steering so back to the drawing board:
  • started by upgrading the servo since I don't have a BEC installed I went with 6V 37,5kg (got it recommended in the forum and the chinese rebrand was cheap)
  • different servo horn - found the screw head rubbing on the upper side of the servo, fixed that
  • put bearings instead of those cheap clips on the servo saver top and bottom
  • hardened the V4 Spring on the saver allthough I had no problems with it but read here that this might help
  • tried thinner tire setups than the copperhead 2
Still bad steering.
Do you guys have any tips for a good compromise between light bashing and driving this track?
What else can I try to make the steering better?
Im thinking it could be my diff setup that makes it so hard...I have no other ideas anymore.