Need tips and suggestions for paint!

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. BigRock 4x4
  2. Infraction
  3. Kraton 6s
  4. Vorteks
So I am no newbie when it comes to art, I actually draw quite a bit(mostly in pencil) but I do know my colors, contrast, etc. I tried painting my Kraton 4s shell with Tamiya paint, but that stuff is too brittle for me. I also see others use Spaz Stix and Duratrax rattle cans. I prefer the rattle can route. Are there any other points I could potentially use that aren't over priced/gimmicky that I could get from say an auto parts, home improvement or department store? My biggest issue is waiting for Amazon or eBay packages to show up. 🤣 Could also use any suggestions on masking tape that I could also use for stencils and won't leave residue behind like my painters tape did.

Honestly man all the rust oleum spray paints work just fine for me its just real important to prep the body clean the inside of the rc body with warm water and dishsoap and to scuff the inside with like 200 and up grit sandpaper or evan a brand new dish sponge with the blue abrasive side and yea spay from a distance first coat you go to heavy on the first couple coats it'll crack and chip when you crash but i use the off white painters tape for taping off like from family dollar and

Maybe this will help

Maybe this will help
I have already seen it. Just asking what other members are using for paint, masking tape and their stencil process. Appreciate the feedback from both of you though. Didn't know I needed to scuff the inside though. I thought these shells were ready to paint out of the box. Now I know.

You can scuff and wash the body out with dish soap and wipe it dry with a lint free cloth and make sure its completely dry. You can use a red scotch brite pad to scuff.