New Hobbywing max6+1100kv testing. Shuts down

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

odraciRRicardo

Fairly New Member
Reaction score
Arrma RC's
  1. Kraton 8S
  2. Kraton 6s
  3. Typhon 6s
Hi,
I'm new to the hobby and been lurking for a while, this is my first post. Great community!

I bought a hobbywing max6+1100kv combo.
After soldering EC5 connectors I decided to test it before mounting it in the car.

If I do a couple of seconds of full throttle the esc shuts down and wont turn on again until around 5min later.
Neither the motor or esc get noticeable warmer.
Once it comes back if I use the throttle a little, it never goes off.

Is this normal behavior or is the esc broken?
If normal and I'm not supposed to hit full throttle without load, what exactly is happening? Some safe guard? Why does it take 5min to start again?

Thanks for the help.

When you say full throttle do you mean tires spinning or just the motor spinning? And shuts down do you mean it actually powers off or do the lights blink?

Either way, I wouldn't do fun throttle unless your testing kv or know exactly what your doing.whatever is happening the esc appartly don't like it.slow down,or you'll end up wasting alot of $hit.hook things up right,reserch,learn,,then pin it to win it🤙
Either way, I wouldn't do fun throttle unless your testing kv or know exactly what your doing.whatever is happening the esc appartly don't like it.slow down,or you'll end up wasting alot of $hit.hook things up right,reserch,learn,,then pin it to win it🤙
Welcome to the forum..
Are the packs your useing fully charged???could be hitting lvc.id read manual,program esc correctly, choose correct gearing,do things in correct steps an you'll enjoy the hobby...these systems can be very dangerous.the problem could be multiple things

Last edited: